There are many sites that make available older, and sometimes current, issues of various journals in biblical and theological studies. Some seminaries and graduate schools also publish their own open access journal. (such as our own title, Reformed Faith and Practice!) When starting in the ATLA collection of journal literature, via our school's online access, always check for a journal's full-text coverage (use the Publications link in the top left corner after you are logged in to see and be able to search an alphabetical listing of what is indexed and what/how much is full-text within the collection).
When looking farther on the Internet, here are some sites - including digital repositories hosted by some seminary and university libraries - that provide archived issues of many journals. On the last tab (far right) of this guide you will find sites that are "gateways" to freely available theology resources on the web:
- DOAJ - The Directory of Open Access Journals contains about 9000 open access journals, many of which are in religious topics.
- BiblicalStudies.org.uk - Thousands of hosted articles, as well as books, on this site.
- Princeton Seminary Journals - A collection of digitized periodicals in the history of Presbyterian and reformed thought, including the Princeton Theological Review and The Presbyterian and Reformed Review. (Princeton also has available a Theological Commons of many more resources here.)
- Presbyterian Digital Library Periodicals - put together by the PCA Historical Center (based at Covenant Theological Seminary; a great resource!)
- SBJT - The Southern Baptist Journal of Theology is published by the Southern Baptist Theological Seminary, and issues going back 20 years are archived on the website.
- The Bulletin for Biblical Research is archived here.
- The Reformed Review (Western Theological Seminary) - From 1955 to 2009, the Reformed Review was a periodical of Western Theological Seminary designed to continue the education of church leaders and other readers, to preserve the history of mission in the Reformed Church in America, and to publish articles relevant to the faith, life, and ministry of the Christian church.
- The Jonathan Edwards Center of Yale University - There are many online study materials here, including Jonathan Edwards Studies, a completely digital, interdisciplinary, professionally refereed journal.
- The Puritan Reformed Journal is published and archived here by the Puritan Reformed Theological Seminary.
- The Master's Seminary Journal contains online archives. You can also browse on this site by author, subject, and even Scripture! The Scripture index covers Volumes 1 to 20 (journal issue years 1990-2009).
- See the online archives for the Mid-America Journal of Theology.
- Journal for Christian Theological Research - available at the Digital Commons @Luther Seminary.
- Themelios is an international, evangelical, peer-reviewed theological journal that expounds and defends the historic Christian faith. Its primary audience is theological students and pastors, though scholars read it as well. Themelios began in 1975 and was operated by RTSF/UCCF in the UK, and it became a digital journal operated by The Gospel Coalition in 2008. The editorial team draws participants from across the globe as editors, essayists, and reviewers. Themelios is published three times a year online at The Gospel Coalition website in PDF and HTML, and may be purchased in digital format with Logos Bible Software and in print with Wipf & Stock. It is also accessible in full-text through ATLA. It is copyrighted by The Gospel Coalition, and readers are free to use it and circulate it in digital form without further permission, but they must acknowledge the source and may not change the content.
- e-PLACE - "preserving, learning, and creative exchange" - is a site of research materials hosted by Asbury Theological Seminary in Wilmore, Kentucky. Included among their journals are The Asbury Journal (scholarly essays and book reviews written from a Wesleyan perspective) and The Journal of Inductive Bible Studies.
- Andrews University Seminary Studies (AUSS) is a semi-annual, refereed print journal of the Seventh-day Adventist Theological Seminary that provides a scholarly venue, within the context of biblical faith, for the presentation of research in a variety of biblical, historical, and theological topics. AUSS publishes cutting-edge research articles, dissertation abstracts, and book reviews to aid you in your study, research, teaching, and preaching.
- Unio Cum Christo: International Journal of Reformed Theology and Life is a publication of Westminster Theological Seminary and the International Reformed Evangelical Seminary. Some archived issues are available online here.